Personal Information


I grew up in Modesto, California. My dad owned a small business and today, in his late-80's, continues to be active in a home-based business.

In addition to his business, my dad had a "ranch." My earliest memories include working on the farm. We grew almonds and walnuts.

By the end of my high school years, I was running my dad's two farms and thought my future would be in farming. When I had an opportunity to join an Uncle in farming in the Outback of Australia, I began to sense that God had something else in store for me.

The first 10 years of my career included working for two not-for-profit organizations. I spent three years with an organization that planted churches in North America. My role was advertising and fundraising.

My next position was as the business manager for a small company that ran programs for church youth groups, produced curriculum for churches, and provided strategic help for pastors.

In 1989, I joined my friend, Gary Woolman, and his firm. I was connected with Woolman Financial Group for 22 years before forming my own firm.

I married the love of my life in July of 1981. Patti and I have had some great experiences. On Valentine's Day in 1985, we went to our first IPFW Men's Volleyball game (the buy-one-ticket-get-one-free offer attracted us). We've been going to IPFW games ever since ... and have enjoyed attending NCAA Men's Volleyball Finals (usually in California).

I've been a past Chairman of the Board for Grace Village Retirement Commuity, past President of the Warsaw Evening Optimist Club, a former instructor for The Dale Carnegie Course, and the senior leader in the start of a new church.

My hobbies have changed through the years. Here are some of the acitivies I have enjoyed: hunting, sailing, backpacking (including Yosemite High Sierra Survival School), lap swimming, cycling, co-ed volleyball, boxing, mountain biking, and reading.

Patti and I live in Warsaw, Indiana.

Reading List